murcia

Portal de Yecla

www.portaldeyecla.com

Yecla - SpanishYecla - English
detail of Yecla

 

The Church of San Francisco opened its doors, restored and recovered to the historical and artistic heritage of Yecla (10/04/2014)

The Church of San Francisco officially opens its doors again this afternoon, 42 years after it closed for worship, fully restored and recovered to the historical and artistic heritage of Yecla, Museum of the Holy Week.

The Mayor of Yecla, Ortuño Marcos expressed his "satisfaction at having achieved the restoration of one of the most iconic building for the city with a great historical, artistic and emotional value for all yeclanos. On this day, we actually a dream of thousands of yeclanos that in recent decades have desired to see the day when these doors open again, to contemplate the rich heritage treasures "

The actions taken included the consolidation of the structure of the building, under the covers, the restoration of the facade.

It also has urbanized the adjacent plaza and has built a hall for temporary exhibitions and meetings.

The restoration of the Church of San Francisco involves an investment of 725,000 euros.

They have been 605,000 euros financed by funds from the European initiative managed by the Leader Approach Counseling Agriculture through Regional Development Association for the Northeast Region of Murcia.

It has also been funded by the city of Yecla and the Ministry of Culture and Tourism

The restoration project was undertaken by the yeclano architect Miguel Angel Muñoz Melero and direction of the work was awarded to the city architect Enrique Escoms

The church of St. Francis was built by the Franciscans in the late sixteenth, highlighting the magnificent steeple of the main facade, which rises above the rest of the building.

Its construction marked the germ of the present city.

With the construction of the Church of the Assumption (1512-1540) and the Franciscan Convent (1582-1612) the axis which has since served as a reference for the expansion of the urban area was formalized.

After years of neglect, was closed for worship in 1972 and a decade later was declared of Cultural Interest, classified as a National Monument.

The Church of San Francisco is linked to the image of the Virgin of Sorrows Francisco Salzillo charged by the SFO.

This year marks the 250th anniversary of his arrival in Yecla is celebrated.

During the opening ceremony will open a photo exhibition on this anniversary organized by the Brotherhood of Our Lady of Sorrows in the front showroom enabled and the Church of San Francisco.

The opening concert will conclude with the Quartering Almus, directed by Octavio de Juan, playing The Seven Last Words of our Redeemer on the Cross of Franz Joseph Haydn

Source: Ayuntamiento de Yecla

Notice
UNE-EN ISO 9001:2000 - ER-0131/2006 © 2019 Alamo Networks S.L. - C/Alamo 8, 30850 Totana (Murcia) Privacy policy - Legal notice Región de Murcia
Este sitio web utiliza cookies para facilitar y mejorar la navegación. Si continúas navegando, consideramos que aceptas su uso. Más información